Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ken_adrian

Juniperus rigida 'Pedula'

a top favorite.. but not one you want to brush up against...

i really need to work on the stake ... but i have been saying that for 4 years .. lol

ken

{{gwi:718467}}

Comments (27)

• sluice
    15 years ago

Nice! If you did something with the stake, would you (a) remove the stake, (b) make it higher, or (c) none of the above?

• coniferjoy
    15 years ago

There is no Juniperus rigida 'PENDULA'.
    This is the species which name is Juniperus rigida.
    This species is a weeping form by itself.

The Juniperus rigida at my collection

• pineresin
    15 years ago

Hi Coniferjoy,

That's just the clone widely available in the West - true it isn't named 'Pendula', but the species as a whole isn't always pendulous like that, see e.g. this one from the Chinese Virtual Herbarium

Resin

Here is a link that might be useful: Juniperus rigida at the CVH

• pineresin
    15 years ago

Or this one from Japan

Here is a link that might be useful:

• bluespruce53
    15 years ago

Interesting, I think coniferjoy's plant might be Juniperus communis 'Oblonga Pendula' ?

• deanforestglade
    15 years ago

I think it is Oblonga Pendula too. I have always found Rigida to be upright and irregular with weeping branchlets and Oblonga Pendula to be much more bushy and mound forming, such as in this photo. However, we do not seem to have Rigida Pendula in UK: only Juniperus Rigida. Having seen many photos of what perport to be both types; I am blowed if I can tell the difference (should there be one).

• pineresin
    15 years ago

Juniperus rigida at RBG Edinburgh, showing fairly pendulous foliage.

Resin

• noki
    15 years ago

Does the latin name mean "rigid"? Or something else?

• pineresin
    15 years ago

Rigid needles. Try handling some!

Resin

• coniferjoy
    15 years ago

For sure is that my plant isn't a Juniperus communis 'Oblonga Pendula'.